Madalynn’s Update

Hey all. I hope everyone had a good weekend. I know I will see all of you tonight, although I might be a little late. There is a march tonight organized by some youth/student group going to TCF and Wells Fargo leaving from the People’s Plaza. Kevin probably already knows about it and I encourage anyone who is interested to come along. People over profits, right? OccupyMN!

So yesterday I talked to my friend Riva, who is a volunteer staff member at Second Foundation School, about our groups interest in facilitating some workshops at the school. We had briefly discussed things before and she told me that she has already spoken with the lead teacher, Starri Hedges, about us coming in, and that she’s into the idea. Riva sounded pretty excited and said that there are a lot of teenage girls at the school right now who could really benefit from time spent on issues of gender equality and female empowerment. So pretty much, we’re in. Since the school week ends on Wednesday for SFS as well, I haven’t had a chance to go in. Hopefully next week I can go in sometime while Riva is working and be able to officially propose our idea to Starri.

Leave a Reply

