Lesson Plan and Other Thoughts

So Here is kind of a rough draft of a lesson plan (in bold)

Start off with a little background story to get the ball rolling.

Have you read or seen Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone? There is a quote in that book that I didn’t notice as very important until I really thought about it.

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to your enemies, but a great deal more to stand up to your friends.”
Dumbledore

I know for myself, growing up in a community of basically one race and class, that I had a lot of friends and classmates who said hurtful things. I never found it too hard to say I thought someone was being mean or hurtful, except when that person was someone that I respected or was friends with.

Have any of you heard your friends say hurtful things? Have any of you heard your friends harass someone about their gender? If you don’t feel comfortable sharing you than don’t have to and remember not to use names so that we don’t embarrass anyone in this group.

(Listen to examples of bullying by friends of students)

Did you say anything?

(Listen to stories)

I want to talk about why it is hard to talk to our friends when we think what they are doing is wrong. What makes it different then when we are talking to someone that we maybe don’t like or someone we don’t know very well?

(Discuss in group)

Does anyone have any ideas on how to talk to a friend about something like this? How do we tell a friend that we think they are wrong or are being mean or hurtful without hurting the friendship that we have with them?

So after doing this I realized that it might be more useful to include it in another one of your ideas. Maddalyn, I mentioned in a comment on yours that I thought our two ideas could work well together. I don’t know that this idea or lesson stands alone very well in terms of what our goals are. I think I would either like to try to do that or go back to my original idea of talking about how media influences society with negative gender stereotypes, but I’m worried about the possible effectiveness of that lesson as well…

I am having an education crisis lately. I don’t know what to do about anything lately.

 

Connor

 

Leave a Reply

